Defending Driving with a Suspended License Charges Throughout Long Island & New York City
Offices Conveniently Located in Nassau & Suffolk County
In New York, we rely almost solely on our cars and trucks to get us to work, take the children to school and activities, visit friends and do chores such as shopping. If you use your vehicle for work assignments or drive professionally for a living, your full source of income can disappear.
Many people feel that driving with a suspended license will bring them a slap on the wrist until they realize that it is a crime. It may have started out as simply as your failure to pay for a traffic infraction. This innocent beginning can lead to a snowball effect that will burden you with major legal issues.
The Law Office of Gaitman & Russo will help you address the serious issues you now confront. We have 50 years of combined experience dealing with suspended licenses and the cause of how it happened. While you may feel that things are spiraling out of control, in many cases we can work with you to take the steps necessary to regain your license and driving privileges.
From the time of your arrest to the conclusion of the trial and final judgment, our legal team will take you step by step through the process for your best possible outcome. Call us today at (516) 588-7590 and schedule a free consultation.
Long Island Suspended License Lawyers
There are many reasons why your driver’s license can be suspended in New York, such as DWI, three or more speeding violations within 18 months, racing, certain drug crimes, failure to pay a ticket or child support, and vehicular assault and homicide. As you may have already found out a suspended license is not a mere traffic infraction but can lead to a misdemeanor or felony conviction depending upon the circumstances of the suspension.
If you are charged with third-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle, it is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum 30-day jail term and a fine of up to $500. However, if you were driving with a suspended license due to DWI or received a new charge of driving with a suspended/revoked license within the past 18 months, you will be charged with second-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle, which is a misdemeanor that is punishable by a jail sentence of up to 180 days and a maximum fine of $1,000.
If you are arrested for driving while intoxicated while your driver’s license is suspended, you could be charged with first-degree aggravating unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. This charge is a Class E felony, which carries a maximum prison term of four years and a fine not exceeding $5,000.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
Trust a law firm that will not give up until all aspects of your defense have been tested. Our Long Island Driving with a Suspended License defense attorneys will offer you sound counsel, compassion for your situation and tenacious defense of your alleged crime.
For more information about our legal services,
contact us today.
We have offices located in Nassau and Suffolk County.